June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Roman, Johann Helmich (1694-1758)
Instrumentation:fl. bc/pft.
Publisher Ref:BP1801
In the contrasting movements of these sonatas, Roman, "The Father of Swedish Music", compliments the style and technique of his friend Handel.

Price: £15.50
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Amadeus Edition
ISBN:none specified
After instruction in playing the violin and oboe, Roman joined his father in the orchestra of the Chapel Royal, Stockholm, at the age of 16. He was noticed there by King Charles XII and his sister Ulrike, who was later to become queen, and it was largely due to her that young Roman was sent to London for further musical education in 1715 where he was to remain for the next six years. He studied composition with Pepusch and played violin in theatre and opera orchestras conducted by Handel, whom he got to know well. In 1721 Roman returned to Sweden, three years after the death of Charles XII and the accession to the throne of his sister. The following decade saw several compositions for the court by Roman including the twelve flute sonatas whose effusive dedication to the Queen is dated 1727. He composed and organized concerts of his own and others' music for the next twenty years and has been called "The Father of Swedish Music".

Handel's influence is clearly heard in various movements of these sonatas, which we might think of as plagiarism, but it was intended as a compliment to the original composer and usually taken as such. This edition includes a straightforward realization of the figured bass.

  • Sonata I - Largo, Allegro, Larghetto, Andante & Vivace
  • Sonata II - Vivace (Adagio), A tempo giusto, Larghetto (Andante, Adagio)
  • Sonata III - Largo, Allegro, Adagio, Vivace, Alla Francese

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).