June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Turnage, Mark-Anthony (b.1960)
Publisher Ref:ED12692
2 short unaccompanied pieces by this prolific and energetic composer, written to commemorate people who were clearly close to him.

Price: £7.50
Sub Title:2 Memorials
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:2001
ISBN:none specified
Mark-Anthony Turnage studied with Oliver Knussen at the Royal College of Music in London and later with Hans Werner Henze at Tanglewood, Massachusetts. His successful opera 'Greek' won him international recognition in 1989 and was followed by 'The Silver Tassie' (2000) and 'Anna Nicole' (2011). Turnage became Associate Composer with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra in 1989 and has since had Associations with the BBC Symphony, London Philharmonic and Chicago Symphony orchestras. In addition to opera and ballet scores and nearly one hundred orchestral and chamber works, Turnage has written a number of solo instrumental pieces. His style is energetic and eclectic, drawing on European modernism as well as jazz, particularly Miles Davis, and rock.

Although they were published together in 2001, the two short pieces presented here were written five years apart. 'Trier' is dated 2000 and commemorates Stephen Trier, the longstanding bass clarinet and saxophone player of the Royal Philharmonic and London Philharmonic orchestras who had died the previous year. 'Memorial' of 1995 has the simple dedication "for Meryl" who was the composer's mother.

  • 2.Memorial

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).