June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:HN987
Written within 2 years of the composer's death, these sonatas were well received by the critics of the day. One referred to their '... inner beauty and splendour' and wrote that the listener was '....offered a wellspring of the purest joys...'

Price: £21.99
Arranger:Voss, Egon
Editor:Behr, Johannes
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:G. Henle Verlag
Year of Issue:1974, 2002
ISBN:none specified
Brahms's friendship with the clarinettist Richard Muhlfeld prompted the richly autumnal beauty of the chamber music of his later years, probably best exemplified by the A minor Clarinet Trio, op.114 and the B minor Clarinet Quintet, op.115, both written in 1891.
The two sonatas, op.120 were composed three years later and were first performed by Muhlfeld in Vienna in 1895. Although they may not rival the Trio and the Quintet for depth and intensity, the colours and senses of autumn are still present in the first of the pair, in F minor, which has a clear emotional scheme of steadily increasing cheerfulness. The first movement is profoundly melancholic and the second less so but still elegiac. The third movement is a pleasing 'Landler' and the finale, a lively rondo.
The first of the three movements of the second sonata (Allegro amabile) shows Brahms at his mellowest and gentlest and that might explain its greater initial popularity over the first. After the Viennese premiere the critic Eduard Hanslick wrote of it "A theme that seems to have fallen from heaven or, better, wafted over from the most beautiful youthful days, full of sweet infatuation and ecstatic bliss of love!"

  • SONATA in F MINOR, Op. 120 No. 1
  • Allegro appasionato
  • Andante un poco Adagio
  • Allegretto grazioso
  • Vivace
  • SONATA in Eb MAJOR, Op. 120 No. 2
  • Allegro amabile
  • Allegro appassionato
  • Andante con moto Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).