June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*
TWO SONATAS from Essercizii Musici

TWO SONATAS from Essercizii Musici

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Telemann, Georg Philipp (1681-1767)
Instrumentation:ob. pft/bc.
Publisher Ref:BA5889
These sonatas for flute and keyboard are taken from a collection of 24 for various instruments, and were first published by Telemann himself - not wholly for artistic reasons.

Price: £21.50
Editor:Hofmann, Klaus
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Barenreiter Edition
Year of Issue:2011
ISBN:none specified
These two sonatas come from the unusually large collection of twenty four published and sold by the composer himself, probably around 1727, with the dual purpose of providing music to be played at home by bourgeois amateurs and repaying Frau Telemann's debts from the sale proceeds. The title 'Essercizii Musici, ...' translates as "Musical Diversions, Consisting of 12 Solo and 12 Trio Sonatas for Various Instruments" and includes music for the instruments usually found in middle class German households of the eighteenth century - harpsichord, violin, recorder, transverse flute, oboe and viola da gamba. Each instrument is given two solo sonatas with continuo accompaniment and the trio sonatas provide for almost every possible combination of the instruments mentioned, perhaps to achieve the greatest possible number of sales.

The sonatas presented here are in Bb Major (TWV 41:B6) and E minor (TWV 41:e6) and are referred to as 'Solo V' and 'Solo X1' in Telemann's original manuscript. The simple realization of the figured bass is intended to be embellished in accordance with the instrument chosen for the accompaniment and the taste and skills of the performer, and the editor suggests doubling the bass line with a cello, viola da gamba or bassoon when a harpsichord is used. Interestingly, it seems that Telemann's tempo marking of "Vivace" for the last movements of both sonatas means "lively" (in style of playing) rather than just "fast". In another publication of 1725/26 he lists tempo markings with their meanings in descending order of velocity, so "presto = very fast", "allegro = fast" and "vivace = sprightly".

  • SONATA in Bb major, TWV 41:B6
  • Adagio
  • Allegro
  • Cantabile
  • Vivace
  • SONATA in E minor, TWV 41:e6
  • Largo
  • Allegro
  • Grave
  • Vivace

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).