June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Cavallini, Ernesto (1807-1874)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M708007258
"A tear at the tomb of the immortal Rossini" is a virtuoso clarinettist's tribute following the death of a much admired composer.

Price: £6.95
Sub Title:A Tear at the Tomb of the Immortal Rossini
Editor:Bradbury, Colin
Skill Level:e/c
Publisher:Lazarus Edition
Year of Issue:2014
ISBN:none specified
Ernesto Cavallini was a leading clarinettist of the nineteenth century whose reputation spread from Brazil to St.Petersburg. A contemporary critic (Fétis) "...describes his volubility and technique as prodigious and his breath as inexhaustible; his intonation was also very good, though his instrument was only the old six-keyed clarinet." Cavallini taught at the Milan Conservatory and played in the orchestra of the Teatro alla Scala before taking up the post of clarinettist to Tsar Alexander II in St. Petersburg where, in 1862, he was also appointed the first clarinet professor at the newly opened conservatoire. It is said that his playing inspired Verdi to write the third act clarinet solo in "La Forza del Destino" which Cavallini played to great acclaim at the premiere of the opera at the Imperial Opera on 10th November 1862. Besides two early unpublished concertos, Cavillini wrote a number of accompanied concert pieces for clarinet solo and duet including fantasias on the operas of Bellini, Donizetti and Verdi.
'Una Lagrima Sulla Tomba Dell'Immortale Rossini' was written in Milan in the early 1870's after Cavallini's return from Russia. It is an 'hommage' to a composer he revered who had died in 1868.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).