June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Kirby, Tierney
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:TK003

Price: £11.00
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:CBWSM Publishing
Year of Issue:2013
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Composer's note: "When writing this piece, I decided to explore the form of a suite of historical dances with a contemporary take on them, such as through tonality and structure. I even included a nod to the jazz scene. The Prelude dutifully portrays a lyrical flourish in Eb major, the Courante demonstrates a cycle of sevenths and the Sarabande is based on the Mixolydian mode on Bb. The Jig is lively, based on Dorian on Ab, the Polonaise demonstrates a metric cycle of five quaver-beat motif in the piano that circulates around a six quaver-beat (3/4) metre (which further develops this idea that was first hinted in the piano in the plus animé section of the Sarabande). The Cadenza intends to reveal total accuracy and technique of the flautist whilst still being able to provide emotion and delicacy, all the while hinting at past dances in the suite. The Bourée mirrors the Courante in harmonic journey and historical era: the 12 bar blues and the Postlude ties a neat bow over the piece, reiterating yet developing the Prelude from its original form. There is a Db, Eb, C motif first implied in the Prelude which solidifies all the sections together. Another motif which does much the same role is the use of the pedal as a feature of the piece. All of the dances take historical note from their past lives: rhythms and metres used in them are taken from original sources and have been developed and adapted for this work."

  • Prelude
  • Courante
  • Sarabande
  • Jig
  • Polonaise
  • Cadenza
  • Bourree
  • Postlude

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).