June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Likhuta, Catherine (b.1981)
Instrumentation:hn. pft.
Publisher Ref:CL01
Written for low horn and piano, commissioned by Denise Tryon.

Price: £28.50
Publisher:Catherine Likhuta
Year of Issue:2018
Vivid Dreams (2018) was commissioned by Denise Tryon and premiered at the 50th International Horn Symposium, where she was a featured artist. It is my eleventh work featuring horn, yet the first one for low horn specifically. Over the years I spent writing for horn, I became fond of the instrument’s unique story-telling abilities. When writing this piece for Denise, I decided to highlight these storytelling abilities and musically tell three little stories in three separate movements:
1. Cradle in the Forest
2. Octopus
3. Urban Secrets
The cycle opens with the solo horn prologue, as if inviting the audience to listen to the stories about to be told. Cradle in the Forest is a creepy lullaby gone wrong, with some unexpected turns. Octopus takes us on a short journey into the strange world of this fascinating creature, through the 8-note enigmatic ostinato. Finally, Urban Secrets is a brisk walk through hidden alleys of a busy city (such as New York, Chicago or Melbourne). There is a moment in the piece where, amongst all the surrounding busyness, one stops for a minute to peek through a window of a dance studio, where couples are dancing waltz. Then it is back to the noisy city life.
Each movement may be performed separately.

  • Octopus
  • Urban Secrets

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).