June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Matthews, Rachel
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:CE132
A three movement work inspired by the idea that the sound of the clarinet is like 'the sound of a tree singing', emphasizing the natural, lyrical, bel canto qualities of the instrument.

Price: £15.40
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Comus Publications
Year of Issue:2011
ISBN:none specified
Having graduated from the Oberlin Conservatory in Ohio and the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, and achieved a doctorate in piano performance, Rachel Matthews has developed a career as a soloist which has taken her around the United States and abroad, to wide acclaim. She also teaches in her studio in Seattle, where she now lives, and her increasing number of compositions are performed, broadcast on radio and awarded competition prizes.

The titles of 'Voices of Trees' came after they were written in 2006 and, as the composer says in her introduction, should not be taken too literally but as pointers towards the ideas from which the music sprang. The absence of key signatures and irregularly changing time signatures produce a shifting tonality and unsettled rhythm which seem to be in keeping with wind blowing through trees in the first movement and intense activity in and around trees in the second. The last movement is an attempt to reveal the truth of trees in relation to human activity. As Rachel Matthews says "it speaks to the collective life of trees that were here before us, have seen all, and will bear silent witness until the end."
  • Listen through the rustling leaves
  • Night Scherzo
  • Witness

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).