June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Postal Strikes: Royal Mail postal workers have planned industrial action on 30th September and 1st October, so there will be no collections or deliveries on those dates. It will take a couple of days afterwards to return to normal service, so please bear this in mind when placing your order.
X1 (score & parts)

X1 (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Morales, Erik (b.1966)
Publisher Ref:MM00023

Price: £22.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Morales Music
Year of Issue:2012
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
The Bell X-1 (originally designated XS-1) was the first of a series of secret experimental aircraft (or X-planes) designed to break the sound barrier. On October 14th, 1947 Air Force Captain Charles “Chuck” Yeager piloted the X-1 to the first supersonic flight. This historic flight was the first to go 807.2 miles per hour (or Mach 1.06). The X-1, named “Glamorous Glennis” by Captain Yeager in honour of his wife, achieved the supersonic speed on its fiftieth flight. This musical work, entitled “X1”, draws its inspiration from this great historical achievement. Some of the melodic material is based off whole tone scales and diminished fifth intervals. This is to mimic the beauty of the symmetrical design of the X-1. The whole tone scale offers both symmetry and a distinctly mechanical sound to the music. Many examples of whole tone scales and diminished fifths can located throughout the piece.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).