June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
BOLERO (score & parts)

BOLERO (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Instrumentation:10-12sax/(Ss)SSAAATTTBB(Bb) (perc)
Publisher Ref:Sax150

Price: £32.00
Arranger:Wood, Nigel
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Saxtet Publications
ISBN:none specified
Ravel was a progressive orchestrator, and included parts for sopranino, soprano and tenor sax in his original score. (The sopranino part is often transcribed for soprano nowadays.) This arrangement takes Ravels vision to its logical conclusion (or so saxophonists would argue) and allocates the rest of the orchestra to the remainder of the sax family, with tenors performing a vital role as side drum substitutes.
Commissioned by Ida Rubinstein, the choreographed 1928 premiere saw her take the role of the table-top gipsy dancer who gradually captivates four men with her mesmerizing display. The first concert performance took place in 1930, but the lure of the obsessive Bolero rhythm still holds sway (as Torville and Dean can attest), and players should always aim for a sense of theatre in their performances.
Edition Notes
An expanded version of this ensemble format is regularly staged by the National Saxophone Choir of Great Britain, using movement and lighting to heighten the sense o

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).