June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Postal Strikes: Royal Mail postal workers have planned industrial action on 30th September and 1st October, so there will be no collections or deliveries on those dates.


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Beamish, Sally (b.1956)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:BDRS1
"Capriccio was written for Graham Sheen and is a virtuoso piece, using the entire range of the instrument, sometimes within a single phrase...the first piece in the language that I have now established as my own." - Sally Beamish

Price: £2.25
Skill Level:E
Publisher:British Double Reed Society
Year of Issue:1992
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
"Bassoon solos in orchestral music have always held a special poignancy for me - something in the rich but plaintive sound is always arresting and somehow dignified. Perhaps it has something in common with my own instrument, the viola. When Graham Sheen suggested I write a short piece for bassoon and piano I was immediately attracted by the idea of exploring the possibilities of the bassoon combined with the totally separate sound-world of the piano. Writing for a bassoonist such as Graham meant that I could stretch the instrument to its limits, and I decided to be quite uncompromising in the demands I made.
Capriccio is, therefore, a virtuoso piece, using the entire range of the instrument, sometimes within a single phrase.
The two instruments interact in various ways. Both sustain cantabile lines; and I have used unisons between bassoon and piano, giving a dry attack to the fullness of the bassoon tone. In other places the piano provides a foil to the bassoon, with sparkling arpeggios in a high register. Counterpoints between the two instruments, in staccato, show their sounds as almost similar.
As sometimes happens with a short, concentrated excursion into unfamiliar territory, Capriccio enabled me to explore new compositional techniques within a manageable format, and I see it as the first piece in the language that I have now established as my own." - Sally Beamish

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).