June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Gipps, Ruth (1921-1999)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:E743
Orchestral material available to hire.

Price: £15.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2020
ISBN:none specified
The Clarinet Concerto Op.9 in G minor was composed in 1940 and marks the presence of two important people in Ruth''s life at that time. The first, her future husband Robert Baker who is the dedicatee and the second, Ralph Vaughan Williams who Ruth was studying with at the Royal College of Music. The first movement is full of driving energy in contrast with some rather beautiful lyrical moments and the third movement is very reminiscent of a English Jig. It is the middle movement, however, that shows the importance of Robert and Ralph. The duet between oboe and solo clarinet is the blossoming romance between Ruth and Robert, while the tonality and pastoral nature of the movement as a whole is in many ways a homage to Ralph.' - Peter Cigleris

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Roger Shilcock
May 16, 2021
(Verified customer)
It's a student work by Ruth Gipps -what a student, one might think - written for her fiance. She may well have trying to make things as difficult as she could for personal reasons; I think the solo part needs a very good player to render it at her prescribed speeds. The style can be described as pretty old-fashioned for the late 30s, but also distinctive and personal, even at age 19. She knows enough to give the soloist some rest time, but gets back at him, it seems, by finishing the work off with a series of very fast apparently unrelated arpeggios.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).