June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Norton, Christopher (b.1953)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060138553
15 original pieces based on well-known Spirituals, Folksongs, Classical themes and Stephen Foster songs with piano accompaniment and CD backing, for the Intermediate to Advanced player.

Price: £14.99
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:2006
Having obtained an Honours Degree in Music from Otago University, Dunedin in 1974, Christopher Norton taught in his native New Zealand and free-lanced as a composer, arranger and pianist. He came to the UK in 1977 to study composition at York University and experimented with combinations of classical idioms with more contemporary popular styles, and this principle came to fruition in 1983 when the first of his 'Microjazz' series was published by Boosey & Hawkes.

Christopher Norton's 'Concert Collection for Flute' appeared in 2006, the first of a series for wind instruments. It consists of fifteen improvisations and inventions on well known tunes, grouped under the headings 'Spirituals', 'Folksongs', 'Classical Themes' and 'Songs by Stephen Foster' (the nineteenth century American composer and parlour song-writer). This is interesting and challenging material for the intermediate to advanced player and attractive and entertaining music for an audience. The CD provides backing tracks and specimen performances.

  • 1. Nobody Knows
  • 2. Swing Low
  • 3. Were You There?
  • 4. Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel?
  • Improvisations on Folksongs:
  • 5. All Through the Night
  • 6. Barbara Allen
  • 7. Drunken Sailor
  • 8. John Peel on Holiday
  • Improvisations on best-loved Classical themes:
  • 9. A Latin Musical Joke (Mozart)
  • 10. Seville Stomp (Rossini)
  • 11. The Young Huntsman (Schumann)
  • 12. Dream of Love (Liszt)
  • Improvisations on songs by Stephen Foster:
  • 13. Susanna at the Hoedown
  • 14. Beautiful Dreamer
  • 15. I Dream of Jeannie

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).