June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(2 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Singelee, Jean-Baptiste (1812-1875)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:26259HL
Three pieces inspired by the composer's longstanding friendship with the inventor of the saxophone, Adolphe Sax.

Price: £16.99
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Henry Lemoine
Year of Issue:1995
ISBN:none specified
Singelée studied at the Royal Conservatoire in his native Brussels and it is probably there that he met and befriended the inventor of the saxophone - Adolphe Sax. Singelée pursued a career as a violin soloist, orchestral conductor and latterly, in music education at the Paris Consevatoire where he wrote some thirty saxophone solos for his students. He encouraged Sax to develop the four principal members of the saxophone family and, with his "Premier Quatuor", Op. 53 of 1857, gave to the world its very first saxophone quartet.

The 5th Solo, Op.91 consists of a 13 bar theme followed by 3 variations and a finale, loosely based upon the theme; it was written as an examination piece for the Paris Conservatory in 1863.

Singelée's Concertino, Op.78 is "through-composed" in the sense that it departs from the closely structured theme and variation formula. He uses his increasing knowledge of the saxophone to phrase more naturally for a wind player, to extend the range of the solo part up to high E and to write simpler alternatives for the less experienced player. The work was published by Adolphe Sax as the 1861 test piece for the Paris Conservatoire.

  • 5th Solo de Concert, Op.91 - Allegro
  • 3rd Solo de Concert, Op.83 - Allegro moderato

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(2 reviews)  

2 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Craig Collins
Mar 2, 2023
(Verified customer)
This collection of music was bought to challenge my reading skills and add to my various studies for the alto saxophone. Please be aware the skill level on the ABRSM grade system is 8+. This collection will keep me busy in the foreseeable future. Great service again with fast delivery from June Emerson
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Catherine Hobbs
Nov 3, 2020
(Verified customer)
Great service, fast delivery
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).