June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO in C major

CONCERTO in C major

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Vanhal (Wanhal), Johann Baptist (1739-1813)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:E694
Graham Sheen has made this piano reduction from the original orchestral material, found in the Landesbibliotek Mecklenburg-Vorpomern. It is Viennese in character and probably a later composition than his Concerto in F major (E668).

Price: £15.50
Arranger:Sheen, Graham
Editor:Sheen, Graham
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2015
ISBN:none specified
The Concerto in C survives as an undated manuscript in the Landesbibliotek Mecklenburg-Vorpomern. The material comprises nine separate parts: fagotto principale, violino primo, violino secondo, viola (the copyist gives alto viola), basso, oboe prima, oboe seconda, corno primo and corno secondo. With the exception of the first violin part all the parts appear to be in the same hand. No full score has survived.
The origins of the Concerto in C are uncertain. Nothing is known of the first or subsequent performances of the work, although the virtuoso bassoonist and composer Franz Anton Pfeiffer (1752-1787) is named along with a Wilhem Berwald as having been one of its copyists.
In style this Concerto in C appears to be a little later than its companion in F (Emerson Edition E668) and probably dates from the early 1780s. Whereas the F major shows clear Italianate origins, (Vanhal spent more than two years studying in Rome), the C major is Viennese in character with the rondo finale stron

  • Allegro moderato
  • Andante molto
  • Rondo

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).