June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO in C major Hob VIIg:C1

CONCERTO in C major Hob VIIg:C1

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:EB5349
Although this concerto was almost certainly not written by Joseph Haydn, it is hailed as a work of high quality and a fine example of the classical wind concerto. It's good enough to have been written by Haydn, even if it wasn't.

Price: £20.61
Arranger:Wunderer, Alexander
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Breitkopf & Hartel
ISBN:none specified
This concerto has been tentatively attributed to Mozart, Beethoven, Besozzi, Michael Haydn (Joseph's younger brother) and various others including anonymous 'ghost-writers' who helped Haydn when his workload of commissions got too heavy. The only near certainty is that it was not composed by Joseph Haydn - his name is written on the one surviving manuscript in a hand which is definitely not Haydn's and the inclusion of trumpets and timpani in the orchestral score of a concerto for a light-voiced instrument like the eighteenth century oboe, contradicts his style.
But for all that, it is a fine example of the classical wind concerto in three movements, fast-slow-fast with attractive melodic lines which fully exploit the technical possibilities of the instrument of the time. The singing quality of the oboe is well demonstrated in the Andante and its bravura capabilities stand out in the Rondo Finale.
Although published in 1926, this Breitkopf & Hartel edition holds its own against mor

  • Andante
  • Rondo, Allegretto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).