June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Milhaud, Darius (1892-1974)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:GB6426
A single movement piece by one of the twentieth century's most prolific 'classical' composers who taught a leading jazz pianist and an internationally successful composer of pop and film music

Price: £7.95
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Gerard Billaudot
Year of Issue:1998
ISBN:none specified
With a list of opus numbers ending at 443, Milhaud was one of the most prolific French composers of the twentieth century. He was one of 'Les Six', a group of French composers (Auric, Durey, Honegger, Poulenc and Tailleferre were the others) who were connected more by friendship than by principles and ideas of composition, and his own style was strongly influenced by the music he heard in Brazil and later, jazz in Harlem, New York. During World War 2, Milhaud joined Mills College, Oakland, California where he taught the budding jazz pianist Dave Brubeck and Burt Bacharach, who would go on to compose 73 US and 52 UK Top 40 hits.

'Danse' was first published in 1954, apparently as the centrepiece of a three movement suite, op.335, but the outer movements have not been traced. Danse itself is an attractive piece of some 60 bars with a persistent suggestion of ragtime in the piano accompaniment and a recurring figure of 4 sets of triplets in the saxophone part.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).