June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Quantz, Johann Joachim (1697-1773)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:UPP101
These 6 sonatas represent a tiny fraction of Quantz's compositions for flute and are published here for the first time.

Price: £25.00
Arranger:Brown, Rachel
Skill Level:E
Year of Issue:2013
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Quantz was broadly contemporary with JS Bach and Handel and wrote a great deal of music but, in life, he was overshadowed by these two giants of the Baroque and totally eclipsed by them in death. He served the flute obsessed Frederick the Great as flute teacher from 1728 and court composer from 1741 until his death 32 years later. During this period Quantz wrote some three hundred flute concertos, a similar number of flute sonatas and numerous other works for his employer/patron. Very little of this work was published during his lifetime and most of it was preserved as manuscript in the New Palace at Potsdam. It is from this source that the present collection of six sonatas is drawn.

Rachel Brown has provided very full performance notes covering accidentals, tempo markings, articulation, ornamentation and other points of interpretation; and the figured bass has been realized by Terence Charlston, so that "Now published for the first time, these choicest pieces may, at last, assume their rightful position in the core flute repertoire."

  • Sonata in F major, No. 272, QV 1:93
  • Sonata in G major, No. 273, QV. 1:109
  • Sonata in A major, No. 274, QV 1:145
  • Sonata in B-flat major, No. 275, QV 1:161
  • Sonata in C minor, No. 276, QV 1:18
  • Sonata in D major. No. 277, QV 1:42

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).