June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
For latest working hours & despatch information, please *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Lewis, Paul
Publisher Ref:E546
Paul Lewis's Four Jazz Sketches for solo bassoon is an entertaining and fun to play suite of movements. Perfect for the later grade player to release their inner groove!

Price: £7.50
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2007
ISBN:none specified
Four Jazz Sketches feels like a breath of fresh air. Jazz bassoon is an increasingly popular genre, and more and more composers are jumping on the opportunity to write something funky for the 'mono-dynamic farting bedpost'. The problem lies in the fact that, more often than not, composers abandon the idiosyncrasies that make the bassoon the gloriously unusual instrument it is, and all they can muster is a bland, cut-and-paste piece that could be written for any instrument. With these Four Jazz Sketches, Paul Lewis really delivers a work that shows that not only can he write classical-jazz, but most importantly, he can write for the bassoon and clearly loves the instrument. Each movement is fun and funky, packed with lots of character and detail to work on and perfect. Four sketches in four distinct, complementary moods - the happy-clappy 'Spiritually Speaking' the jilty 'Almost a Waltz', which can only be compared to dancing with two left feet and the hiccups The swung 'Snazzy-Jazzy'

  • Snazzy-Jazzy
  • Spiritually Speaking
  • Whose Blues?
  • Almost a Waltz

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).