June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Richardson, Alan (1904-1978)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:E144

Price: £12.95
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1989
ISBN:none specified
This work was originally published by Oxford University Press, but although oboists regard it as the mainstay of the solo repertoire it was allowed to go out of print. Responding to repeated demands, Emerson Edition re-published it in 1989, together with the Roundelay which had suffered a similar fate. 'Alan had a gift for melody, and the sheer kindness of the man shines through the music'. (Double Reed News, August 1990)
Alan Richardson (1904 ' 1978) was a Scottish pianist and composer. He worked for some time in Edinburgh as a pianist for the BBC before going to London to study piano and composition with Harold Craxton at the Royal Academy of Music.
In 1931 he undertook a concert tour of Australia and New Zealand. He was accompanist for violinist Carl Flesch from 1936 to 1939. Richardson married renowned oboist Janet Craxton, the daughter of his teacher Harold Craxton, in 1961. He was appointed Professor of Piano at the Royal Academy of Music in 1960, a position he held until

  • Rendezvous (3'00)
  • Les Peupliers (3'15)
  • Passepied (2'45)
  • Causerie (2'00)
  • Les Moulins (3'00)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).