June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel (1714-1788)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:FTR 1
A tuneful work by one of JS Bach's sons which amply demonstrates the move away from the Baroque to the more heartfelt and personal 'galant' style

Price: £10.99
Editor:Walther, Kurt
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1955
ISBN:none specified
JS Bach's second surviving son, known simply as Emanuel, was recognized as one of Europe's foremost keyboard players by the time he reached his mid twenties and, in 1738, was appointed to the court orchestra of the keen flautist and future King Frederick the Great of Prussia, in Berlin. Besides a vast amount of keyboard music, Emanuel Bach wrote some forty works for flute solo, accompanied and in ensemble, many of them during his thirty years at the Berlin court. But these don't seem to have found favour with the king who preferred to play the offerings of his Kapellmeister and composer Joachim Quantz and this may have been a contributory cause of Emanuel's move to Hamburg in 1767 to relieve his godfather Georg Philipp Telemann as chief Kapellmeister for the five main churches of the city.

The G major sonata nicknamed 'Hamburger' (Wq.133) is dated 1786. It clearly demonstrates the highly embellished but essentially simple tunes and light accompaniment of the 'galant' style which was intended to 'touch the heart' and 'awaken the passions' in contrast to the grandeur and conservatism of the Baroque which Emanuel Bach had left behind in Berlin.

  • Allegretto
  • Rondo (presto)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).