June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(2 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Kovacs, Bela (b.1937)
Publisher Ref:EDL2103
A set of nine homages to famous composers: J.S. Bach, Paganini, Weber, Debussy, De Falla, Strauss, Bartok, Kodaly & Khatchaturian.

Price: £37.95
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Edition Darok
Year of Issue:1994
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
"My pedagogical activities inspired me to compose the Hommages. The pieces were intended to be etudes or studies which students my use as supplementary material to the usual dry and mechanical - although indispensable - exercises. They contain various challenges. If performed with impressive dexterity, with proper tone production and sufficient knowledge of styles, coupled with a sense of humour and a certain amount of fantasy, they could - hopefully - find success even on the concert stage. .." - Bela Kovacs

  • Hommage a... J.S. Bach
  • Hommage a... Paganini
  • Hommage a... Weber
  • Hommage a... Debussy
  • Hommage a... de Falla
  • Hommage a... Richard Strauss
  • Hommage a... Bartok
  • Hommage a... Kodaly
  • Hommage a... Khachaturian

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(2 reviews)  

2 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Ann George
Jan 5, 2021
(Verified customer)
This is certainly not a collection to play through from beginning to end. Hommage a Manuel de Falla is both difficult and exciting, though a bit over-long. One day I'll have a go at another one. Be warned though that some of these solo pieces are also available with a basic piano accompaniment, so check out if some of them are already in your music library.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ann George
Jul 20, 2020
(Verified customer)
These unaccompanied pieces are seriously challenging and mainly explore "national" styles. I have been working on "Manuel de Falla" which is exciting and dramatic. This book is a great for the "lockdown" as a piano is unnecessary, although I had already bought "Khatschaturian" as "Armenian Lament and Dance" with piano accompaniment, and several other accompanied Hommages seem to be available separately.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).