June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Senaille, Jean Baptiste (1687-1730)
Instrumentation:bn/euph. pft.
Publisher Ref:NOV936081
An attractive piece by a virtuoso violinist of the early eighteenth century which has since been arranged for all the commonly played woodwind and brass instruments including this arrangement for bassoon and piano.

Price: £11.99
Arranger:Parker, Howard
Skill Level:C/D
Year of Issue:1948
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Senaillé was taught the violin by Jean Baptiste Anet who had been an outstanding pupil of Corelli's. Under Anet's influence, he visited Modena in Italy where he shone as a member of the opera orchestra and caught the attention of the Duke and Duchess who, after a glowing performance of some of his own sonatas, appointed Senaillé to their court orchestra. In 1720 he returned to France and settled in Paris where, thanks to the influence of the Duchess of Modena, he joined the regency court orchestra and also performed often with the Concert Spirituel. After Louis had come of age and been crowned Louis XV in 1723, Senaillé was appointed to his private band where he remained until his death 7 years later.

In France, he was recognized as one of the best violinists of his time and as an influential teacher who passed on Italian playing techniques to be absorbed into the French school as it developed. His 50 published violin sonatas, which show Corelli's influence, appeared in books of 10 between 1710 and 1727. The 'Introduction' of the title is taken from the Sarabanda third movement of Senaillé's Fourth Sonata, published in Paris in 1721, and the 'Allegro Spiritoso' comes from the Allegro which follows the sarabanda. This arrangement for bassoon was published in the U.S.A By Goodwin & Tabb and has a copyright date of 1948.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).