June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Gaubert, Philippe (1879-1941)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:EC6685
One of Gaubert's most popular pieces which shows the influence of two contemporary composers he admired and typifies the techniques and style of his other flute pieces.

Price: £10.95
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Enoch et Cie
Year of Issue:1908
ISBN:none specified
Gaubert's early success as a conductor in Paris was overtaken by his activities as a flautist and composer and he became a soloist in the principal Paris orchestras. In 1919 he was professor of the flute class at the Paris Conservatoire and from that time, Gaubert re-established himself as a conductor, concentrating on contemporary French music by Ravel, Debussy, Dukas, Franck and Florent Schmitt; and the Wagnerian repertory at the Paris Opéra. His own compositions include two operas, two ballets, orchestral works and a good deal of chamber music featuring the flute.

Madrigal is a wistful little piece written in 1908, the year in which the composer's teacher Paul Taffanel died. It pays tribute to the work of César Franck and Gabriel Faure, two of Gaubert's contemporary countrymen whose music he championed, and introduces the virtues of Gaubert's other flute miniatures: "clarity of form, economy of means, and warmth of expression."

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).