June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*
NAPOLITAN Air Varie Op.28

NAPOLITAN Air Varie Op.28

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Jancourt, Eugene (1815-1901)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:E710
A delightful piece for bassoon, likely to have been played at musical soirees by Jancourt himself, who conveyed the ''poetry and purity of the sound'' of an instrument initially perceived by his audience to be rather comical.

Price: £8.95
Arranger:Sheen, Graham
Editor:Sheen, Graham
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2016
ISBN:none specified
Graham Sheen writes:
'On January 3rd 1841 the critic of La France Musicale wrote: 'Once again, a musical soir'e at the home of M. Herz'Un air varie pour basson composed and performed by M. Jancourt, gave great pleasure'The first inclination of the audience was to laugh, seeing the great virtuoso blowing into this immense stove pipe (cet immense tuyau de poele)'. Bit by bit, however, the audience were won over to the 'poetry and purity of the sound'. The report concludes by acclaiming M. Jancourt 'un basson de premi're force'.
The origins of Op.28 are obscure. Jancourt's opus numbers appear to refer to the date of publication rather than composition though the style and scope of the work would seem to indicate an early date, perhaps in the 1840s. It seems also to have appeared under various titles: Air Varie, Air Varie Facile and Napolitan - Air Varie. Napolitan is, in itself, a puzzling title since this spelling is neither French, Italian or English. Whether or not it was t

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).