June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*
QUINTET score & parts

QUINTET score & parts

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Cowlin, Philip (1920-2005)
Instrumentation:fl. ob. cl. bn. hn.
Publisher Ref:E189

Price: £15.95
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1994
ISBN:none specified
Philip Cowlin was born in 1920 to a musical family in Stockport: both parents were gifted amateur singers and pianists and gave recitals in Grantham (his mother's home town) and in and around Stockport. He studied violin with a professional teacher but 'picked up' some piano technique by playing his own early compositions. While taking a degree in Physics at Manchester University he showed his compositions to Proctor Greg, the Reader in Music, who suggested he change courses and enter the Music Faculty. The 1939 war prevented this, but a Violin Sonata (unpublished) was played at the Manchester Contemporary Music Circle by Agnes Stevens and Proctor Greg. Later, another Violin Sonata was played at the Malvern and Droitwich Contemporary Music Circles by the composer, with Eric Mutch at the piano. A Serenade for small orchestra won a Patron's Fund Award at the Royal College of Music, where it was performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sir Adrian Boult. Other p

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).