June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Hindemith, Paul (1895-1963)
Instrumentation:hn/Eb/sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:ED4635
Originally written at the height of the Second World War for a lesser known brass band instrument, this 4 movement sonata includes a poem whose text is made more poignant by the events which were happening at the time.

Price: £16.99
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1956
ISBN:none specified
In 1943, Hindemith was in his third year of teaching at Yale University in the States when he wrote the Sonata for Althorn and Piano. (Confusingly, 'Althorn' is German for the British 'Tenor Horn', most often played in brass bands). Perhaps because it was written for quite an obscure instrument, the sonata was not published until 1956 when the present edition appeared, and Hindemith gave his blessing to the use of substitute instruments, particularly the alto saxophone.

The pastoral nostalgia of the short first movement contrasts strongly with the counterpoint and irregular metre of the second where the piano does not so much accompany the solo line as contradict it. Lyricism returns in the mere fourteen bars of the slow third movement and the fourth is preceded by a poem, shared by soloist and pianist, which sets the mood of conflict between the serenity of the solo part and the agitation of the accompaniment. "Your task it is, amid confusion, rush, and noise / to grasp the lasting, calm, and meaningful, / and finding it anew, to hold and treasure it."

  • II Lebhaft ('Lively')
  • III Sehr langsam ('Very slow')
  • IV Lebhaft

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).