June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ridout, Alan (1934-1996)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:E109
A three movement sonata, full of rhythmic interest and contrast within movements as well as between them.

Price: £14.50
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1978
ISBN:none specified
By the time Alan Ridout had reached the age of twelve he had gained a distinction in Grade 8 piano and had written over a hundred works in a wide range of genres. At fifteen he joined the Guildhall School of Music to continue his piano studies and to learn conducting and composition, which became his main interest and took him to the Royal College of Music where he worked for two years with Gordon Jacob and a further two with Herbert Howells.
When he left the R.C.M. at the age of 20 a good number of his works had been performed, mainly at concerts of the Society for the Promotion of New Music. Ridout combined his budding career as a composer not only with teaching but also with continued study by exploring electronic and microtonal techniques in the Netherlands and, on his return, making a comprehensive study of early music with Professor Thurston Dart at Cambridge University.
By 1964 it was there that he was teaching, and at the University of London, and as professor of theory and

  • II Espressivo
  • III (Finale - March)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).