June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in E minor

SONATA in E minor

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Geminiani, Francesco (1687-1762)
Instrumentation:ob/fl/vn. pft.
Publisher Ref:HM178
Ono of six sonatas by this composer who otherwise wrote exclusively for the violin. It lends itself well for oboe and piano

Price: £11.50
Arranger:Ruf, Hugo
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Barenreiter Edition
Year of Issue:1961, 1989
After studying the violin with Corelli in Rome and composition with Alessandro Scarlatti in Naples, Geminiani returned to his native Lucca in Tuscany as an orchestral violinist. In 1714 he moved to London where he gained a great reputation as a violin virtuoso and, it is said, helped to reconcile Handel with the new king, George I whom Handel had angered by abandoning his post as George's court composer in Hanover by coming to London in advance of the coronation. In addition to his playing, Geminiani was equally valued as a composer and teacher. Besides his violin tutor (Op. IX) he published a number of sonatas and concerti grossi amongst which were "Twelve Sonatas for Transverse Flute or Violin or Oboe & Basso Continuo", his only published work to mention wind instruments. Of these twelve sonatas, Geminiani wrote the first six and Castrucci, the remainder.

Hugo Ruf has chosen sonata no. 3 to edit particularly for oboe and piano because it avoids high notes, long passages which present breathing problems and double stopping. His editorial work is limited to the realization of the figured bass into the piano accompaniment, additions to articulation and ornamentation, and correction of the few mistakes he found in the source which is held by the Library of the Royal Conservatoire of Music in Brussels.

  • II. Allegro
  • III. Largo
  • IV. Vivace

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).