June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in Eb major Op.120 No.2 (Wiener Urtext)

SONATA in Eb major Op.120 No.2 (Wiener Urtext)

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:UT50016
The second of Brahms two sonatas Op.120, in 3 movements, seems to have been the more popular of the pair when they were premiered in January 1895, possibly because of the loveliness of the opening theme.

Price: £10.99
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Universal Edition
Year of Issue:1973
Brahms's friendship with the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld prompted the richly autumnal beauty of the chamber music of his later years, probably best exemplified by the A minor Clarinet Trio, op.114 and the B minor Clarinet Quintet, op.115, both written in 1891. The two sonatas, op.120 were composed three years later and first performed by Mühlfeld in Vienna in January 1895. Although they may not rival the Trio or the Quintet for depth and intensity, the first movement of the three movement second sonata (Allegro amabile) shows Brahms at his mellowest and gentlest. The renowned Viennese music critic Eduard Hanslick described the opening theme....."it was as if it had fallen from the Heavens,...., as if it were wafting over from those loveliest days of our youth, full of sweet rapture and the potent happiness of love!....." The second movement is a scherzo with a broad and impressive trio, and the third is a set of variations which takes the place of both slow movement and finale.

  • Allegro amabile
  • Appasionato, ma non troppo Allegro
  • Andante con moto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Stephen Bennett
Mar 29, 2022
(Verified customer)
Similar to my comments on the FMol. The piano parts are useful. Urtext is reliable. I prefer my own editing, of course.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).