June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Arnold, Malcolm (1921-2006)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:AL1000
This is said to be the most popular of Malcolm Arnold's four sonatinas for solo wind and piano, intended to display the full range of the instrument's characteristics in the hands of a specific player.

Price: £13.99
Skill Level:D
Year of Issue:1951
ISBN:none specified
This is one of four sonatinas for wind instruments by Malcolm Arnold which he wrote between 1946 and 1952 for specific players.The clarinet sonatina was written for the accomplished player and teacher Frederick Thurston early in 1951 and published in the same year, but the first performance at the Royal Society of British Artists in London, on 20th March was given by a young clarinettist called Colin Davis who was to become a world renowned conductor.

The first of three strongly contrasted movements (Allegro con brio) starts 'brillante' with wide leaps and dashing semi-quavers accompanied by percussive off beat chords. This gives way to a cheerful theme which is reminiscent of the music hall or even the circus and is in turn followed by sustained and reflective writing for the clarinet with an off beat accompaniment. The opening material returns for a few bars before the movement ends thoughtfully and pianissimo. The elegiac mood of the clarinet part in the second movement (Andantino) is contradicted by the angular harmonies of the piano accompaniment and the finale (Furioso) is a hectic dance in triple time with a middle eastern feel to it.

  • I Allegro con brio
  • II Andantino
  • III Furioso

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).