June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in F minor, TWV 41:f1

SONATA in F minor, TWV 41:f1

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Telemann, Georg Philipp (1681-1767)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:BP665
A 4 movement sonata which was at the forefront of releasing the expressive and virtuosic potential of the bassoon.

Price: £10.50
Arranger:Michel, Winfried
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Amadeus Edition
Year of Issue:1977
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
During the early part of the eighteenth century the bassoon was thought of as an accompanying instrument and support for the continuo in ensembles when a keyboard instrument was missing; and otherwise as a monochrome 'happy' instrument. Composers of the Late Baroque gave more variety to the bassoon and wrote for it more sensitively both in accompanying parts and solos in concertos and cantatas, particularly Telemann who knew the possibilities and limitations of the instruments available to him, as well as any of his contemporaries.

In 1728 Telemann published the first of twenty-eight fortnightly issues of his "Der Getreue Musikmeister" (The Faithful Music Master) which 'featured' a sonata or suite and the four movements of the Bassoon Sonata in F minor (TWV 41:F1) appeared in issues 11 to 14. He followed Corelli (1653-1713) in adopting a slow-fast-slow-fast structure, typical of his Italian church sonatas, and in aspects of style, use of cadences and the same key signature throughout. But in choosing the serious key of F minor for this ten minute sonata and marking the first movement "Triste" - Sad, Telemann countered the earlier one-dimensional view of the bassoon and pioneered composition for the instrument of great expressiveness and virtuosity.

  • Triste
  • Allegro
  • Andante
  • Vivace

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).