June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Celebrate with a 50th Birthday discount! *Click Here*
SUITES No.1, BWV 1007 & SUITE No.2, BWV1008

SUITES No.1, BWV 1007 & SUITE No.2, BWV1008

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Publisher Ref:am432-01
An opportunity for flautists to enjoy the first two of Bach's famous 'cello suites

Price: £9.50
Arranger:Southworth, Clare
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Astute Music Ltd
Year of Issue:2009
ISBN:none specified
It was common practice for Baroque composers to transcribe music they had written for one instrument to be played by another although, in the case of his 'cello suites, Bach seems not to have done so, leaving transcription to later arrangers who, using past practice as justification, readily made this outstanding music available to their chosen instrument. It was also not unusual to transcribe compositions for lower pitched instruments for those of higher pitch and vice versa, so transcribing the 'cello suites for flute is not as obtuse as it might seem. There are technical advantages as well because in Bach's 'cello writing there is much less double-stopping to be accommodated within the flute part compared to his solo violin music which would be a more likely candidate for transcription to flute.

Clare Southworth is the most recent composer and arranger to address the first two of Bach's 'cello suites. In her introduction, she mentions the points to consider in performing Bach's music and the problems which arise when transcribing string music for wind, particularly breathing. She has added suggested breath marks but advises that breaths should become part of the melodic line, allowing the music itself to breathe naturally. She hopes "....to give flutists the chance to ... enjoy some of the most beautiful, complex and challenging music ever written" and ends with "There is no 'right' way to play Bach, but I believe you should be truthful to the style, ...."

  • SUITE No.1, BWV 1007
  • Prelude
  • Allemande
  • Courante
  • Sarabande
  • Menuet 1
  • Menuet 2
  • Gigue
  • SUITE No.2, BWV 1008
  • Prelude
  • Allemande
  • Courante
  • Sarabande
  • Menuet 1
  • Menuet 2
  • Gigue

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Tim Body
Jan 4, 2021
(Verified customer)
Not sure what I'm supposed to be commenting on here. Is it your service, Bach's music or the edition, which all seem fine to me (especially Bach's music)? Suggestion: why don't you spare us this specious internet marketing nonsense and concentrate on what you know you do well and just get on with what you do?: The music is what I ordered and was supplied efficiently. Thank you. What more needs to be said? Regards, Tim Body

JEWM Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write your response, it's much appreciated. I understand your frustration at yet another request for feedback. However, I want to assure you that the idea of asking for reviews was purely to assist other customers in finding out a bit more about the music and to assist them in making choices, which isn't easy if you can't look at the music in person.
We're not asking for a review of the company or the shopping experience, so I'll make sure the wording of the email is updated to make that clearer.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).