June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)
Publisher Ref:CH01551
Igor Stravinsky's Three Pieces for solo clarinet, revised and edited by Nicholas Hare in 1993. During the 71 years between the first publication of these pieces and the selling out of the nineteenth printing in 1991, nearly 30,000 copies were sold.

Price: £9.99
Editor:Hare, Nicholas
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1993
ISMN:none specified
Stravinsky wrote his 'Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo' at Morges, on the shores of Lake Geneva, Switzerland in 1918. They are dedicated to the artistic patron and amateur clarinettist Werner Reinhart who had effectively underwritten the first performance of 'The Soldier's Tale' that same year. The Three Pieces were first performed by Edmond Allegra in Lausanne on 8th November 1919, he having played the clarinet for the premiere of The Soldier's Tale the previous year.

The Three Pieces were published in 1920 by J. & W. Chester, Ltd. (London and Geneva) and a copy taken from the original plate (ref. J.W.C.1151) still exists. There are differences between the plate and the composer's manuscript but, in the absence of any proofs or relevant correspondence from Stravinsky, it is assumed that the plate presents the music as he wanted it to be. The present edition (1993) is based on J.W.C. 1151 with reference to the manuscript. It is intended for practical performance and editorial changes have been restricted.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).