June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Davies, John & Harris, Paul
Publisher Ref:0571509517
50 studies selected from the repertoire of 9 virtuosi of the nineteenth century and a current highly acclaimed composer/teacher, presented progressively for clarinettists studying for Grades 1 - 5.

Price: £7.99
Skill Level:A-C
Publisher:Faber Music
Year of Issue:1986
ISMN:none specified
The first of these two books contains 38 studies drawn from established collections by distinguished 19th century performers who approached the various problems encountered in developing technique. Added to these are 12 studies specially composed by Paul Harris to introduce aspects of 20th century style. All 50 studies are published in order of increasing difficulty, to a carefully planned technical progression so that the full spectrum of basic technique is covered, laying a firm foundation for progress. Book one is intended for students working from elementary level (grade 1) to intermediate level (grade 5).

  • The composers represented in Book 1 are listed below with a note of the total number of their studies included:-
  • Friederich Demnitz (1845-1890) - 15 studies
  • Paul Harris - 12 studies
  • Robert Stark (1847-1922) - 9 studies
  • Henry Lazarus (1815-1895) - 5 studies
  • Carl Baermann (1811-1885), Frederic Berr (1794-1838), Ludwig Wiedemann (1856-1918) - 2 studies each
  • Hyacinthe Klosé (1808-1880), Jean Lefèvre (1763-1829), Amand Vanderhagen (1753-1822) - 1 study each

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).