June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO Op.7 No.3 in Bb major

CONCERTO Op.7 No.3 in Bb major

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Albinoni, Tomaso (1671-1751)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060010170
This piece by a contemporary of Vivaldi and Corelli is one of the first oboe concerti by any composer outside Germany and is remarkable for its form and tunefulness.

Price: £12.99
Arranger:Paumgartner, Bernhard
Skill Level:C
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1948
ISBN:none specified
Coming from a wealthy Venetian family, Albinoni didn't need to earn his living as a musician, but his amateur status is no reflection on the quality of his instrumental music which was compared favourably with the work of his contemporaries Vivaldi and Corelli, in his own lifetime. Albinoni is known to have written 53 operas (he claimed 81) but only 3 have survived and it is on his instrumental sonatas and concerti that his reputation depends. No less a composer than JS Bach used three of his works as the themes for clavier and organ fugues and it is suggested that Albinoni was central to the development of the three movement concerto form (Fast - Slow - Fast).

The 12 'concerti a cinque' Op.7 (the 'cinque' refers to a 5 part string orchestra as distinct from the more usual 4 parts) were published in Amsterdam by Etienne Roger some time between 1710 and 1715. Besides 4 concerti for oboe & strings, Op.7 includes 4 for 2 oboes and 4 for violin, but the solo oboe concerti, Nos 3,6,9 & 12, are generally thought to be the most original and best of the collection. This edition of Op.7 No.3 was prepared by the distinguished conductor, musicologist and teacher Prof. Bernhard Paumgartner who also reduced the orchestral string parts for keyboard. In the introduction he says "This concerto is exemplary and fascinating, remarkable for its compactness, for its beautiful combination of the solo part with the tutti and the original development of its ideas."

  • Adagio
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Kenneth Rhodes
Sep 24, 2022
(Verified customer)
A beautiful Baroque piece which will be a pleasure to work on especially with my brilliant oboe teacher Catherine Baker.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).