June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Hindemith, Paul (1895-1963)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:ED2522
Written in 1936, when the Nazis banned all performance of Hindemith's music, this sonata is an antidote to lush Romanticism. The Nazis had a very different agenda, musically and otherwise.

Price: £17.50
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1937
ISBN:none specified
Paul Hindemith was at the forefront of the "New Objectivity" (Neue Sachlichkeit) which found expression in the music of post WW1 Germany by rejecting Romanticism in favour of a drier, more austere style of composition. It focussed on developing motifs into polyphonic but musically independent lines using familiar elements from popular music or the Classical or Baroque periods. All this was anathema to the Wagner-soaked Nazis who dismissed Hindemith's music as "cultural Bolshevism" and by 1936 had banned all performance of it.
Hindemith's flute sonata was written in the same year and it is said that the 'sarcastic' march of the last movement was inspired by the practising of a Nazi marching band in the courtyard outside his room. The first movement is a modified sonata form allegro and the second has been described as a jewel of flute literature for its depth and sense of tragedy. The work as a whole epitomizes the "New Objectivity" and Hindemith's unique harmonic language within it.

  • Sehr langsam (Very slowly)
  • Sehr lebhaft (Very lively) - Marsch

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).