June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*
SONATA in C major

SONATA in C major

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Besozzi, Alessandro (1702-1775)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH01598
Distinguished oboist Evelyn Rothwell's arrangement of a sonata by the Italian Alessandro Besozzi, some 200 years after it was first published.

Price: £8.99
Arranger:Rothwell, Evelyn
Skill Level:B/C
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1956, 1991
ISMN:none specified
When the English organist, composer and music historian Charles Burney visited Alessandro Besozzi at his home in Turin in July 1770, he found him living with his identically dressed bassoonist brother, Paolo Girolamo. Both brothers had been in the service of the King of Sardinia following their only excursion outside Italy, a trip to Paris in 1735 where their double-reed duetting was very well received. It may have been from Paris that Alessandro's 'Six Solos for Hautboy with a Thorough bass for the Harpsichord' reached London where the well known musicians Thomas Arne, William Boyce and John Stanley were included in the list of subscribers for its publication.

Evelyn Rothwell (1911-2008) was a distinguished oboist whose orchestral and solo career took off at a time when women professional wind players were almost unheard of. Following marriage to the charismatic conductor John Barbirolli in 1939, his career began to overshadow hers but this perhaps gave her the opportunity to seek out new repertoire, including this sonata by Alessandro Besozzi which she edited and arranged from his 'Six Solos for the Hautboy...". In the introduction to this edition she writes "...., but I feel that it deserves a minor place in the oboe player's repertoire for it's lyrical slow movements and pert and piquant allegros. I hope that others will enjoy discovering it as much as I did."

  • I. Andante
  • II. Allegro
  • III. Larghetto
  • IV. Allegretto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).