June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(2 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Rae, James (b.1957)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:RD002
The 3 movements of this sonatina, quick - slow - quick "... are in contrasting moods and are written to show off the saxophone in a variety of styles from classical to rock."

Price: £9.75
Skill Level:D/E
Year of Issue:2005
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
James Rae is a highly experienced performer in a wide range of genres for the saxophone, both solo and in ensemble. In addition to that, he is also one of Europe's most published composers of educational music with over 120 titles to his name, several of which appear in exam syllabi around the world. One of these is his Sonatina for alto saxophone which was written for Paul Summers in 2005 and it was he who first performed it in London in June of that year. It is a pastiche of two faster outer movements, with clear latin and rock references within them, framing a slow central movement in 3/4 time which strongly echoes the work of Éric Satie, as its title "Gymnopedie Bleu" suggests.

  • 1. Toccata Latino
  • 2. Gymnopedie Bleu
  • 3. East Coast Mainline

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(2 reviews)  

2 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Steve Shaw
Nov 23, 2020
(Verified customer)
A challenging but most enjoyable piece of music to master. Allows the performer to bring a jazz style to their repertoire
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sheila Bloomfield
Jul 23, 2020
(Verified customer)
Great piece, arrived promptly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).