June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Digital Download
Composer:Harris, Paul
Publisher Ref:e-CSCP054
A four movement solo work, which makes use of the bass clarinet’s broad range of pitch, dynamic possibilities and timbres.
Price: £6.50
Sub Title:for Solo Bass Clarinet
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Samek Music
Year of Issue:2023
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
To complete the series, Victoria suggested I might like to write an unaccompanied Sonatina for Bass Clarinet which I did with great enthusiasm! In fact, apart from bass clarinet parts in clarinet quartets, this is the first time I’d written music for bass clarinet as a solo instrument. In studying a number of extant works, I was reminded what a flexible and versatile instrument the bass clarinet is. Again, the Sonatina is cast in the usual 4 movement structure and the first movement certainly makes use of the bass clarinet’s broad range of pitch, dynamic
possibilities and timbres. It contrasts two main ideas, one developing through big leaps and the other through descending intervals, both have the use of triplets in common. The second movement is a rather cheeky and jazz-inspired. The triplet theme is still present and, again, the broad pitch range of the bass clarinet is exploited. The third movement is the most serious and introspective, there is a deeply questioning feeling throughout but
there is resolution at the end despite the previous tonal ambiguity. The final movement is a real tour-de-force exploring all the bass clarinet does so well. I hope players of this instrument will enjoy this addition to the repertoire and I thank Victoria very much for her commission. - Paul Harris

Digital Delivery Details

You will receive two separate emails: one which contains the order confirmation and receipt; one which includes the links to your downloaded products.
You will also find these links within the My Account area of the website - click on the relevant order number within the Downloads tab to find them. For this reason it is mandatory to register for, or log in to, your online account in order to purchase/retrieve Digital Editions.

Digital Editions are watermarked on every page with the purchaser’s name, email address, order date and order number.

You have 2 attempts to download each PDF. If you have any problems downloading the files, or both attempts are unsuccessful, please Contact us giving full details of the problems you've experienced and we'll do our best to resolve the issue.

- Digital editions cannot be downloaded onto a mobile phone.
- Please ensure that you check all your details are correct before confirming your order.
- We cannot refund Digital Editions where a download has been attempted.
- Digital Editions are for individual use only and NOT for resale.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).