June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Harris, Paul
Publisher Ref:CSCP054
A four movement solo work, which makes use of the bass clarinet’s broad range of pitch, dynamic possibilities and timbres.
Price: £6.50
Sub Title:for Solo Bass Clarinet
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Samek Music
Year of Issue:2023
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
To complete the series, Victoria suggested I might like to write an unaccompanied Sonatina for Bass Clarinet which I did with great enthusiasm! In fact, apart from bass clarinet parts in clarinet quartets, this is the first time I’d written music for bass clarinet as a solo instrument. In studying a number of extant works, I was reminded what a flexible and versatile instrument the bass clarinet is. Again, the Sonatina is cast in the usual 4 movement structure and the first movement certainly makes use of the bass clarinet’s broad range of pitch, dynamic
possibilities and timbres. It contrasts two main ideas, one developing through big leaps and the other through descending intervals, both have the use of triplets in common. The second movement is a rather cheeky and jazz-inspired. The triplet theme is still present and, again, the broad pitch range of the bass clarinet is exploited. The third movement is the most serious and introspective, there is a deeply questioning feeling throughout but
there is resolution at the end despite the previous tonal ambiguity. The final movement is a real tour-de-force exploring all the bass clarinet does so well. I hope players of this instrument will enjoy this addition to the repertoire and I thank Victoria very much for her commission. - Paul Harris

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).