June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
48 STUDIES Op.31

48 STUDIES Op.31

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ferling, Franz Wilhelm (1796-1874)
Publisher Ref:UE17514
A collection of studies in the more usual keys which are still popular and included in syllabi over 170 years after they were first published.

Price: £20.50
Arranger:Joppig, Gunther
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Universal Edition
Year of Issue:1983
Ferling's first appearance on the musical scene was at the age of nineteen when it seems that he was principal oboist at the Court Theatre in Braunschweig (Brunswick) in Lower Saxony, Germany. Programmes for military band concerts at that time suggest that he may also have played in the Brunswick Regimental Band but it is fairly certain that he was appointed to the Brunswick Court Orchestra in 1823 and staid there for forty-four years as principal oboe, soloist and composer.

The 48 Studies, Op.31 are said to be his most important composition for teaching purposes. They were first published by Chr. Bachmann in Hanover in about 1840 and remain popular to this day, offering one slow and one fast study in each key and a variety of styles - 'bel canto', romances, toccatas, marches, waltzes, polkas etc.

  • C Major - 1. Adagio con espressione; 2. Moderato risoluto
  • A minor - 3. Andantino; 4. Allegro moderato
  • G Major - 5. Andante cantabile; 6. Allegro scergo
  • E minor - 7. Largo; 8. Allegro moderato con fuoco
  • F Major - 9. Adagio con espressione; 10. Tempo di Polacca
  • D minor - 11. Larghetto; 12. Allegro furioso
  • D Major - 13. Andante con gusto; 14. Scherzo
  • B minor - 15. Largo mesto; 16. Allegretto risoluto
  • Bb Major - 17. Adagio cantabile; 18. Vivace
  • G minor - 19. Andante; 20. Allegretto
  • A Major - 21. Maestoso; 22. Allegro moderato
  • F# minor - 23. Andante; 24. Scherzando
  • Eb Major - 25. Adagio con espressione; 26. Allegro con brio
  • C minor - 27. Largo lagrimoso; 28. Allegro spirituoso
  • E Major - 29. Andante amabile; 30. Allegro poco moderato
  • C# minor - 31. Adagio pietoso; 32. Allegretto
  • Ab Major - 33. Adagio; 34. Allegretto risoluto - Db Major - 41. Adagio; 42. Poco allegretto
  • F minor - 35. Andante con gravita; 36. Scherzo - Bb minor - 43. Marcia funebre; 44. Tempo di marcia
  • B Major - 37. Andante; 38. Maestoso - F# Major - 45. Andante Sostenuto; 46. Moderato
  • G# minor - 39. Largo; 40. Allegretto - Eb minor - 47. Grave; 48. Allegretto.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Mar 7, 2021
(Verified customer)
Such attentive service and very speedy delivery. Prices very competitive and with a personal service.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).