June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH01572
Extracts from 2 of Handel's oratorios which span his composing career, arranged for oboe and piano by a distinguished pioneering woman oboist.

Price: £9.95
Arranger:Rothwell, Evelyn
Skill Level:B
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1991
ISMN:none specified
Handel's masque 'Esther' (HWV 50) was first performed in 1718 at Cannons for his patron, the Duke of Chandos and was revived 14 years later to become the first English oratorio, in 3 acts. It is the Act 1 Scene 5 duet "Who calls my parting soul from death?" between Esther (soprano) and Ahasuerus, King of Persia (tenor) which has been arranged here as the 'Air'.

'The Triumph of Time and Disillusion' (HWV 46a) was premiered in Rome in 1707, 5 years before Handel came to England and his first oratorio. He revised and expanded it for the London audience in 1737 as 'The Triumph of Time and Truth' and there was a further revision 20 years later (HWV 71), to which the blind and ageing Handel probably contributed little, but with that reservation,'The Triumph ...' was also his last oratorio. The 'Rondo' presented here is the Act 3 aria sung by 'Deceit' (soprano) "Sharp thorns despising..."

Evelyn Rothwell (1911-2008) was a distinguished oboist whose orchestral and solo career took off at a time when women professional wind players were almost unheard of. Following marriage to the charismatic conductor John Barbirolli in 1939, his career began to overshadow hers but this perhaps gave her the opportunity to seek out and arrange new repertoire, including these two attractive extracts from the early and latter parts of Handel's composing career.

  • Air
  • Rondo

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Ian Frost
Jul 13, 2020
(Verified customer)
A charming nostalgic re-visit. A successful arrangement by a famous oboist who contributed to the repertoire.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).