June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH01562
The opening instrumental movement of a Bach cantata arranged by a leading oboist of the twentieth century.

Price: £9.99
Arranger:Rothwell, Evelyn
Skill Level:C
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1992
ISMN:none specified
Bach wrote the church cantata BWV 156 "Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe" (literally - I am standing with one foot in the grave) to be sung on the third Sunday after Epiphany, 23 January 1729 at the Thomaskirche in Liepzig where he was Cantor or 'Director of Music'. It is written in six parts for alto, tenor and bass solo voices, four part choir, strings, continuo and solo oboe which features in the opening part or 'Sinfonia'. This seems to be derived from an earlier oboe concerto and was used again in a later harpsichord concerto.

The distinguished oboe soloist and orchestral player Evelyn Rothwell (1911-2008) arranged the BWV 158 Sinfonia for oboe and piano to increase the repertoire accessible to students and amateur players, retitling it 'Adagio'. She kept to the original key of F Major but instead of ending the piece in the dominant, as a lead into the first number of the cantata, as Bach did, she rewrote the last two bars to form a perfect cadence and a decisive ending, so that the Adagio stands alone as a separate piece in its own right.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Sarah Rowe
Jan 8, 2021
(Verified customer)
Arrived quickly, just what I needed. Thank you.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).