June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:King, Thea (1925-2007)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH55093
Eight mainly 19th century ensemble pieces arranged for clarinet and piano by a distinguished clarinettist and teacher.

Price: £14.99
Arranger:King, Thea
Editor:King, Thea
Skill Level:C
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1989
ISMN:none specified
Thea King, the editor of this collection of eight pieces and extracts, studied clarinet with Frederick Thurston at the Royal College of Music (RCM) and went on to forge a distinguished career as performer and teacher. She was principal clarinet of the English Chamber Orchestra for thirty-five years and also worked with the London Mozart Players and Sadler's Wells Opera Orchestra, while the composers Benjamin Frankel and Gordon Jacob dedicated a chamber piece and a concerto to her respectively. She returned to the RCM as Professor of Clarinet from 1961 to 1987 when she moved to the same position at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and remained there until her death.

In her Preface to Volume 1, which seems to apply equally to this volume, Thea King wrote "This collection presents original clarinet tunes from various contexts, taken from works by both familiar and lesser-known composers. Some of the instrumental combinations in which they normally appear may not be easily available to the student, so these adaptations with piano could provide suitable pieces for study or performance." She also provided brief explanatory notes for each piece at the end of the book.

  • Crusell - Menuetto (from Quartet in C minor, Op.4)
  • Mendelssohn - Andante (from Konzertstuck in D minor, Op.114)
  • Beethoven - Allegro Finale (from Wind Sextet, Op.71)
  • Weber - Allegretto (from Introduction, Theme and Variations)
  • Crusell - Andante Moderato (from Concerto in Bb, Op.11)
  • Molter - Moderato (from first movement from Concerto No.4 in D)
  • Glazounov - Allegretto (from The Seasons)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).